Foundational Leadership Series

Every fall quarter, SOMeCA offers the Foundational Leadership Series that supports you, as a student leader, in having a successful academic year. As student leaders of your community, you are constantly adapting to an ever-changing and complex environment. Your student organizations are learning spaces filled with opportunities for you and your members to practice addressing challenging and shifting dynamics.

Engaging with these challenges provides you the opportunities to learn skills that not only support your experiences now but will also translate into your future careers post-graduation.

This leadership series is all part of the learning process you will be engaging with at SOMeCA. To find what trainings you need to complete, please view your Path A or B handout.

Engaging Communication

This training provides opportunities for student leaders to learn practices that support organizations in having healthy communication.

Tuesday, 10/19/21 Register Here
Saturday, 10/23/21 Register Here
Friday, 10/29/21 Register Here
Wednesday, 11/3/21 Register Here
Saturday, 11/6/21 Register Here
Tuesday, 11/9/21 Register Here
Thursday, 11/18/21 Register Here
Saturday, 11/20/21 Register Here
Tuesday, 11/23/21 Register Here
Wednesday, 12/1/21 Register Here

Authentic Collaboration

This training provides opportunities for student leaders to learn practices that support organizations in working collaboratively and realizing their goals.

Wednesday, 10/20/21 Register Here
Saturday, 10/23/21 Register Here
Thursday, 10/28/21 Register Here
Tuesday, 11/2/21 Register Here
Saturday, 11/6/21 Register Here
Wednesday, 11/10/21 Register Here
Friday, 11/19/21 Register Here
Saturday, 11/20/21 Register Here
Wednesday, 11/24/21 Register Here
Thursday, 12/2/21 Register Here

Making Money Moves

This training provides opportunities for students to learn the basics of financial management including an overview of various financial documents and procedures as well as understanding an organization’s budget. This training is for the financial representative of Path B and all representatives of Path A.

Monday, 10/25/21 Register Here
Saturday, 11/6/21 Register Here
Monday, 11/8/21 Register Here
Saturday, 11/20/21 Register Here
Monday, 11/29/21 Register Here


Please note, it is optional to retake any training if you’ve already taken them in the 2020-2021 school year.